top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhispers To Humanity

Privileges and Identities

On May 1st, 2020, feminists from the Whispers Community (https://t.me/WhisperToHumanity)had a discussion on Privileges and Identities. This discussion was a continuation of the previous discussion which was titled “Intersectional Feminism”. The Privileges and Identities discussion was facilitated by Ifeanyi Oluchi June.


 

To explain, Intersectional Feminism recognises the oppressions related to race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation and a lot more oppressions that women face at the same time with sexism. It aims at making sure that these problems, which make the burden of sexism more unbearable, are not ignored and properly addressed.( A write-up was produced by the speaker in the previous post. You can refer to it for clarification on Intersectional Feminism.)



Facilitator: Before moving to the discussion of today, from last week’s discussion, what can we define Intersectional Feminism as?


N O: Feminism that emcopasses, all struggles the female encounters.




Facilitator: Intersectional feminism is an understanding that everyone has specific experiences of their gender, and recognizes the different identities and challenges they may face of that make them vulnerable.


It’s no secret women have been and continue to be oppressed within our society, but intersectionality highlights other characteristics that affect the equal acceptance of women in society be it their race, ethnicity or even socioeconomic status.

For feminism to achieve its stated aims, feminism needs to accommodate the different needs, experiences and identities of different people, using an intersectional approach to recognize how privilege, power and circumstance may affect your understanding and perspective.

The long and short of this is that as women, apart from having to deal with sexism ( prejudice or discrimination based on sex or gender, especially against women and girls) , women also have various identities in the society which come with various levels of oppression and experiences.


Briefly, I’d love us to share 5 things about ourselves.


Tell us your identities.


M M: I am 15 years old, in my last year of secondary school.

I regard myself as a feminist even though most of my friends refuse to agree with my ideology.

I struggled with bulimia a while back because my family teases me often bout how I’m ‘big’ but I’m not even thick, I’m bordering on skinny but that isn’t enough for them.

I’m tallish. I’m light skin.


Facilitator: I am a feminist. I am Igbo. I am a Christian. I am dark skinned. I am Plussize


C O: I am a feminist. I am an igala. I am a Christian. I am dark skinned and I am smallish.


N O: I'm 22yrs. I am a Christian. I am currently studying to be an engineer. My goal is to have the largest farm in Nigeria. I love people. I also love food.






Facilitator: These identities and more intersect and can be experienced with different intensities at different times.


They can be amplified when put together. So it is important to listen to and acknowledge these different experiences of various women.

These identities contribute to the oppression women face on a daily basis.


So it’s not just sexism women have to deal with individually, there’s racism, ableism, ageism, homophobia, transphobia, religious persecution, and a whole lot more which are linked to how diverse women experience inequality.


Moving on to privileges.


When talking about intersectional feminism, it is very important to note the privileges we enjoy individually.


Also take note of the fact that there are other women who don’t have the same privileges that we have


Meaning that, we all would different perspectives and understanding.

Privilege is the access to or enjoying rights and advantages simply by membership of a particular group or identity. These privileges are often unearned or undeserved.

Are there any privileges that come to mind?

It could be personal or not


C O: Privileges from race Privileges of gender, religion, ethnicity.


M M: Privileges from sexuality and ability




Facilitator: Privilege can be compared to the concept of oppression. Basically, oppression occurs because society is structured in a way that automatically puts individuals with certain traits at a disadvantage. In other words, it’s harder for oppressed people, to advance in our society. This is the opposite of privilege, in which certain characteristics make it easier for people to succeed in society.


Our identities are made up of various aspects, some of which may afford certain privileges while some may lead to oppression from others. These different characteristics intersect in various ways. For example, as a woman I am disadvantaged in this society, but I am also privileged in that I am receiving higher education and I have a supportive family to a huge extent.

I am neither wholly privileged or wholly disadvantaged.


One very important thing to consider when thinking about privilege is to think about the ways you are privileged. Some of us might not see being able to go to school as a big deal but there are a large number of women and girls that are not able to go to school because of they are women, lack of money, religion, ethnicity and a whole lot.

By considering the ways you hold privilege, you are better able to understand and listen to those who experience various types of oppression and can learn on how to work together to end the oppression and create a society in which everyone enjoys the same opportunities.

”If we fail at the basic starting point of educating ourselves on all marginalized identities and the specific struggles they face, then we would never be able to have a movement that is truly inclusive.”


Mariella Mosthof, to reflect the importance of intersectional movements.


When it comes to intersectional feminism, we have so much to learn.


We have to ask questions, think critically and question your surroundings.

We have to reach out, listen to diverse voices, believe their experiences and share their message.


We also have to educate ourselves on identities that vary from our own. This is what we can do to help foster the intersectional movement.

Honestly, when we say we fight for the rights of women, we fight for all women.


Women who have different identities from ours.


Women who have different religions from ours.


Women who are from various classes in the society.


Women who don’t share the same beliefs as ours.

We fight for the rights of all women.



M M: No woman should be excluded just because she doesn’t agree with our beliefs.




Facilitator: There should be nothing like when it’s a Christian like me, I’ll stand up for her.


If she’s a Muslim, it’s none of my business.


There should be nothing like when she’s a heterosexual woman, I’ll fight for her because that agrees with my beliefs, when it’s a homosexual woman, it is no business of mine.


Not at all.


EVERY WOMAN IS A SISTER.


And so as feminists, when we fight for women’s rights and equality, we fight for all women. No exclusions.


So I’ll love us to move with this in our hearts and our minds as we go on with our daily activities.


Every woman is a sister.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Intersectional Feminism? Yes

I raise up my voice not so I can shout, but so that those without a voice can be heard. MALALA YOUSAFZAI

What does patriarchy mean to you?

My brothers are being reminded of the need to get a job while everybody looks at me like . "This one now one man will jus

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page